The Board of Trustees of the Max Planck Institute for Innovation and Competition is the body where science and society meet. One of its important functions is to establish a trusting relationship between the Institute and the public. The Board of Trustees advises the Institute on matters of academic policy, economics and organization. For an institute of the Max Planck Society, the Academic Advisory Board represents the central instrument of academic evaluation.


It advises the institute’s directors, in particular with regard to its research program, performs a triannual evaluation of the institute’s research, and reports to the President of the Max Planck Society. Every six years, groups of Max Planck institutes with a similar specialization (e.g. all law institutes) undergo a comparative evaluation. This comprehensive and independent assessment of the institutes’ research activities ensures the appropriate allocation of the public funds made available to the Max Planck Society.

Board of Trustees

Members of the Board of Trustees represent the areas of politics and the judiciary, governmental agencies and bodies, collecting societies and business:

Prof. Dr. Heinrich Arnold
Investor and Member of multiple Supervisory Boards, DXG Deutsche Digital GmbH

Dr. Marc Beise
Head of the Business Editorial Office, Süddeutsche Zeitung

Dr. Ingo Brinker
Chairman of Studienvereinigung Kartellrecht e.V.

Prof. Dr. Friedrich Wenzel Bulst
Head of Unit Antitrust: Media, Directorate-General for Competition, European Commission

Rolf Christof Dienst
Managing Director, Wessel Management GmbH

Dr. Christoph Ernst
Vice-President of the European Patent Office

Dr. Carsten Fink
Chief Economist, World Intellectual Property Organization (WIPO)

Prof. Dr. Beate Gsell
Dean of the Faculty of Law, Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität Munich

Sabine Herold
Managing Director, DELO Industrie Klebstoffe GmbH & Co. KGaA

Dr. Regina Hock
President of the Federal Patent Court

Dr. Tobias Holzmüller
Head of Legal, GEMA

Carsten Knop
Editor, Frankfurter Allgemeine Zeitung

Prof. Dr. Thomas Koch
Chairman of Judges of the I. Civil Senate, Federal Court of Justice

Dr. Johannes Lübking
Head of Unit 'Antitrust, Energy, Environment', DG Competition, European Commission

Dr. Christian Meyer-Seitz
Head of Department Commercial and Business Law, Federal Ministry of Justice and Consumer Protection

Andreas Mundt
President, Bundeskartellamt

Iris Plöger
Member of the Executive Board, BDI e.V.

Dr. Tillman Prinz
Federal Chairman, German Chamber of Architects (BAK)

Cornelia Rudloff-Schäffer 
President, German Patent and Trademark Office

Dr. Robert Staats
Managing Director, VG WORT

Beat Weibel
Chief IP Counsel, Corporate Technology IP, Siemens AG

Dr.-Ing. E.h. Manfred Wittenstein
Chairman of the Supervisory Board, WITTENSTEIN SE

Dr. Gert Würtenberger
President, German Association for the Protection of Intellectual Property (GRUR)

Academic Advisory Board

The Academic Advisory Board of the Institute includes leading academics from the areas of intellectual property law, competition law and economics:

Prof. Dan L. Burk, J.D.
University of California, USA

Prof. Dr. Andreas Fuchs, LL.M.
University of Osnabrück, Germany

Prof. Inge Govaere, Ph.D.
University of Ghent, Belgium

Prof. Dr. Ulrich Kaiser
University of Zurich, Switzerland

Prof. Dr. Torsten Körber, LL.M. (Berkeley)
University of Cologne, Germany

Prof. Alexander Oettl, Ph.D.
Georgia Institute of Technology, USA

Prof. Dr. Christina Raasch
Kühne Logistics University, Germany

Prof. Dr. Jens Hemmingsen Schovsbo, Ph.D. (Chair)
University of Copenhagen, Danmark

Prof. Dr. Martin Senftleben
University of Amsterdam, Netherlands

Prof. Marketa Trimble, Ph.D., J.S.D.
University of Nevada, USA

Prof. Dr. Reinhilde Veugelers
KU Leuven, Belgium

Prof. Dr. Rolf H. Weber
University of Zurich, Switzerland